Wasteland Blues and the Collaborative Process

 

Wasteland-Blues-JACKET.indd

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My latest novel, WASTELAND BLUES, co-authored with Andrew Conry-Murray is the first of a post-apocalyptic trilogy and is now available on Amazon in both TRADE PAPERBACK and KINDLE editions from Dog Star Books. (Click those links to head on over to Amazon and grab a copy!)

This novel – this Trilogy! – began way back in (correct me if I’m wrong, Drew) 2003 as a collaborative writing project between myself and my undergrad friend, rock & roll band-mate, fellow psychonaut, post-college Boston roommate, and talented writer Andrew Conry-Murray (though, he was just Drew Murray back then…). We were living in different places and starting new lives when we began this experiment: I was up in New York’s Hudson Valley living on a remote mountaintop surrounded by woods in a home once owned by George Hansburg (inventor of the pogo stick), and Drew was in… San Francisco… Boston… Paris… Africa… Pennsylvania… the dude gets around!

We wanted to write something that we wanted to read. We wanted to inspire ourselves and each other to create something from the elusive gloaming radiance of the things that inspired us. We wanted to share and explore our love of the science fiction and post-apocalypse genres: sprawling vistas, radioactive landscapes, and rusting, forgotten technology… And, most of all, we wanted to get lost in the journey.

There’s a story, in WASTELAND BLUES, to be sure. There’s a goal – a mission, to be found in its pages. And there’s a definite end (though maybe not quite in sight) for the fool’s errand we’ve set our hapless characters upon. But I think all readers will agree, that at it’s heart, WASTELAND BLUES is a road-trip. A gritty, sand-in-yer-teeth, radioactive road-trip. And like all good road-trips, it’s so much more about the adventures along the way, the friends you make and lose, and the family that you build around you – than it is about the destination. Literature (if I can be so bold), like Life, man – it’s all about the Journey…

And what a journey it is! (I almost typed “was”, but realized that being about a third of the way through writing Book Two: THE BOMBED-OUT LANDS, Drew and I still have quite a road ahead of us…). Getting lost along the way… taking left turns instead of right… nearly dying of thirst and starvation… hitching rides with musky Bedouins, insane automatons, grizzled scavengers, and (wait for it, ‘cuz this is coming in Book Two) a gang of leather clad, motorcycle riding post-apocalypse nuns… Yeah, what a long, strange, radioactive trip it’s been…

It’s crazy out there in the Wasteland. Ya never know what’s just over that next sand dune, just beyond that broken stretch of highway, inside that seemingly abandoned gas depot or mutie den or bug nest… It’s always a surprise. Hopefully, each turn of the page is as much of a surprise for those reading WASTELAND BLUES as it was for us writing it. See, that’s one of the greatest, most wickedly exhilarating things about the collaborative writing process: At nearly EVERY single turn, I – or Drew – would chuckle maniacally at the situation – the cliffhanger – the seemingly impossible predicament – hell, the Kobiyashi Maru – the most absurd and impossible corner that we could paint our poor characters into, before turning the writing reigns over to the other. Let’s see ya get ’em outta this one, Drew…! only to open my email a few days later to, Right back atcha, you jerk! 

And somehow we DID manage (at least so far) to get our characters (narrowly) out of the most improbable and dangerous binds that Drew and I could throw at one another. And while our characters may have suffered, the story sure didn’t! And neither has my passion for continuing to write – to live, to dance – in this world.

Because, unlike most solitary writing endeavors, in WASTELAND BLUES I have the thrill and the luxury of sharing with the readers the tingling excitement of reading the next few pages, fresh from (the sick – don’t let him convince you otherwise) mind and fingers of Drew, and having NO IDEA what is coming next or how we’re gonna get out of it…

But we will. And I’m sure Drew will agree.

 

You can check out WASTELAND BLUES here:

WASTELAND BLUES – Trade Paperback Edition

WASTELAND BLUES – Kindle Edition

 

 

Wasteland Blues – Kindle Edition

WASTELAND BLUES

by Scott Christian Carr & Andrew Conry-Murray
Kindle Edition

Wasteland-Blues-JACKET.indd

 BUY NOW ON AMAZON

 

“Scott Christian Carr and Andrew Conry-Murray have fashioned a wasteland tale reminiscent of some of my favorite apocalyptic movies. A BOY AND HIS DOG and Cormac McCarthy’s, THE ROAD come to mind. Fans familiar with the genre will not be disappointed!”

–david j. moore, Author of WORLD GONE WILD: A SURVIVOR’S GUIDE TO POST-APOCALYPTIC MOVIES

“Of Mice and Men Meets The Odyssey in a Post-Apocalyptic Future”
–Cary Caffrey

“The only thing I didn’t enjoy about “Wasteland Blues” is that it ended…”
–Daniel Haeusser

WASTELAND BLUES
With a Foreword by Tim Deal, Shroud Publishing
Wasteland Blues delves into a post-apocalyptic wasteland, where any semblance of
government has been lost and the world is open, in chaos, but ultimately “free.” Three
friends and a reluctant guide undertake a dangerous journey to discover whether a haven
exists on the other side of the country so ravaged by nuclear and biological catastrophe.
Drawing on past apocalyptic works but with fully fleshed and unique characters the authors
explore themes of violence, loyalty and survival. Fans of A Boy and His Dog and The Road
will be interested in this novel.

Wasteland Blues is the first book of a post-apocalypse Trilogy.

Wasteland Blues – Trade Paperback

WASTELAND BLUES

by Scott Christian Carr & Andrew Conry-Murray
Trade Paperback

Wasteland-Blues-JACKET.indd

 BUY NOW ON AMAZON

 

Scott Christian Carr and Andrew Conry-Murray have fashioned a wasteland tale reminiscent of some of my favorite apocalyptic movies. A BOY AND HIS DOG and Cormac McCarthy’s, THE ROAD come to mind. Fans familiar with the genre will not be disappointed!

–david j. moore, Author of WORLD GONE WILD: A SURVIVOR’S GUIDE TO POST-APOCALYPTIC MOVIES

Of Mice and Men Meets The Odyssey in a Post-Apocalyptic Future
–Cary Caffrey

The only thing I didn’t enjoy about “Wasteland Blues” is that it ended…
–Daniel Haeusser

WASTELAND BLUES
With a Foreword by Tim Deal, Shroud Publishing
Having only ever known the uncivilized wake of nuclear and biological apocalypse, three friends-and their wheelchair-bound hostage-set out on a perilous fool’s mission: to cross from one side of the devastated United States to the other, in the desperate, half-believed hope of finding a rumored haven. Spurred by a dark vision and the murder of their parents, rageaholic Derek Cane and his oversized, simple-minded brother Teddy flee the only home they’ve ever known, a struggling shantytown on the edge of the vast wasteland. Heading ever eastward, they are accompanied by their friend John, an orphan brought up by a fanatical religious order, and Leggy, a crippled old drunk who brags that, in his youth, he once traversed the wasteland as a scavenger.

Wasteland Blues is the first book of a post-apocalypse Trilogy.

By Scott Christian Carr Posted in New Book
Aside

nixon-coversVote and get FREE STUFF! Vote to choose the cover for my upcoming (March 23) novel THE THOUSAND YEAR NIXON. I’ll randomly select a bunch of voters (aw, you know me – I will probably be able to select ya all…!) to receive Cool, Free Stuff: Copies of THE THOUSAND YEAR NIXON ebook before it debuts, some upcoming print works, awesome limited promotional materials, and more…!

Just click THE THOUSAND YEAR NIXON button at the top of this page (or follow this link) to head on over to the Poll.

Be sure to enter your email address when you vote, follow me, or join my email list so I can be sure to get you your goodies… Thanks and ENJOY!!

Vote for the THOUSAND YEAR NIXON Official Book Cover! Get FREE STUFF!!!